Nothing is ever really done in a game…

29 Jan

Today and yesterday I worked on redrawing the sprites for the billionth time. I did Cherri and Devlin, next is probably Seth.

One sprite a day isn’t so bad. I already have the steps down.
Do the lineart for the body, do the lineart for the eyes, brows, mouths, color the lineart, save each piece, code them all together in different expressions, test them out, tweak, do a test scene, realise you don’t have nearly enough expressions (damn humans and their wide array of expressions), redraw or recombine parts as needed, crash on bed and sleep. Yep… I have it down to an art.

Yesterday I was testing Cherri. I gave her some basic expressions: sad, happy, smiling, angry etc. All was well so I decided to do a scene. Turns out I needed: annoyed, disappointed, guilty and mischievous… Damn humans… Next time I’ll do a VN about robots.

3 Responses to “Nothing is ever really done in a game…”

  1. Veniae 15/06/2012 at 16:00 #

    Have you thought about separating the expressions from the sprites themselves? Like, making a faceless sprite and using separate pictures for all the expressions? It saves some time.

    • SummerFoundMe 17/06/2012 at 18:22 #

      That’s how I’m doing it, too. I have different eyes/brows/mouths/etc and I combine them in different ways for different expressions. It does save time and reduces file size.

      • Veniae 19/06/2012 at 17:22 #

        It does, but it hadn’t occurred to me that you can divide the different face parts, as well. I bet it’s like a puzzle xD

Leave a reply

