What now?

6 Oct

Now that Summer is finished I’m at a loss somehow. I always felt guilty for working on something else when I had an unfinished project and now that I can, I don’t know what to do.

I have two projects on my mind now and I’ve decided not to make the same mistake again. I’m not going to do anything until the story is finished. That means no drawing sprites, no backgrounds, no GUI, not even dialogue until I have a solid storyline. It makes sense because things like character appearance and location are bound to change in the first stages.

Of course I failed at this and did a bit of each, but it’s okay because I call it practice.

I’ve been trying out a new way of doing backgrounds. I’m a bit disappointed with the results because I worked harder than with SFM bgs method, but the results aren’t amazing. I did learn from it though, I guess that’s why I called it practice. ^^

Backgrounds practice

3 Responses to “What now?”

  1. Veniae 05/11/2012 at 11:54 #

    I personally think that these BGs are pretty damn cool. I can only envy your ability to draw sceneries, and very well at that.😀

    • GlassHeart 05/11/2012 at 12:16 #

      Thank you. I guess I’m being hard on myself because I’m comparing my stuff to what pro artists do for commercial games. If I keep trying maybe one day I’ll be one, too ^^

      • Veniae 05/11/2012 at 16:39 #

        If that’s what you want, I’m sure you’ll accomplish it! But in any case, the fact that you’re making the effort of actually drawing your own BGs instead of using public domain ones says a lot. It’s way more than so many other game creators do. c:

Leave a reply

