So I made this game about chasing 2D guys. Hire me?

12 Jan

This isn’t really a game update, but I thought it would be something funny to talk about.

I’m writing a few pages about visual novels and my experience with them to go with my resume. It wasn’t my idea, mind you. I would never ever tell anyone about it, but someone thinks it’s a good idea.

I’m not exactly sure what I should write about and, even beyond the problem of translating a bunch of terms into Romanian (I’ve given up on some of them and just let them be), it’s a really frustrating experience.

How do you explain to someone who is NOT a friend what a visual novel is? Worse than that, what a GxB VN is. “It’s a game where you chase cute 2D boys around” is not acceptable. I can almost see a middle aged guy reading it and going: huh? while scratching his head.

How do you explain that the game is about reading and clicking? Or that you’ve made a game in another language thus they may or may not understand it if they played it? Also for the life of me I can’t find a decent screenshot. All the ones I have handy are my dumb jokes that I can’t possibly show someone I’m trying to impress. At the same time if I show some bland and generic line they’ll think VNs are stupid.

I’m not sure if I shold explain the story either, I’ve only written like 3 lines about it so I hope it’s ok. Writing about love confessions hurts my brain too, especially since there’s no right word for it in Romanian. They’re probably looking for the technical aspect of it anyway.

Right now I’m trying to write about the role decisions have and how points work. All my decisions (the ones I had a screenshot of) sound so girly and lame and I’m just embarrassed about my drawings, writing, everything. *wallows in self pity*

Why did I think this post would be funny? Ah, now I remember. It’s not, I’m only writing this to get away from what I’m actually supposed to write.

4 Responses to “So I made this game about chasing 2D guys. Hire me?”

  1. bd 12/01/2013 at 23:54 #

    Why not just say that (most) VNs are like interactive chose your own adventure books? Just with visuals and audio with it? Say romance is a popular theme.

    If anyone asks about kinetic novels, say they’re interactive regular books instead of chose your own adventure.

    • GlassHeart 13/01/2013 at 12:33 #

      Thanks for the suggestions ^^. In the end I managed to write something decent to explain what visual novels are (thanks wikipedia!). The annoying thing is we don’t have “choose your own adventure” books here, nor a term for romance as a genre. We call it something like love story and love is not a word I wanted to use since the reader, especially if it’s a guy, would think I wrote a sappy romantic story about people falling in love and being all mushy. lol

  2. Sayuuki 13/01/2013 at 19:56 #

    Procrastination FTW!
    Sincer, m-am dat bătută de mult cu încercarea de a face oamenii care nu ştiu nimic despre anime/manga [sau orice alt subiect total necunoscut] să le înţeleagă şi să încerce, dacă nu să le aprecieze, măcar să le respecte. Când cineva vrea să înţeleagă, înţelege. Dacă nu vrea, no offence, the person’s just stupid [in mah opinion].
    Mult succes cu VN-urile, I’m rooting for you!

    • GlassHeart 13/01/2013 at 21:44 #

      Mersi ca ma sustii. ^^ Tare as vrea ca anime-urile, manga, vn-urile, toate astea sa fie ceva normal si la noi (bine, ca in Japonia nu sunt sanse sa fie).

Leave a reply

