Old people and being original

16 Jan

I don’t remember drawing old people before. Not successfully at least. Well I tried today. I needed to do a sprite for Ayrius’s butler, Manford. Isn’t Manford such a butler-ish name? I didn’t even look for a name for him, it just came to me.

Anyway, I think I did a really bad thing. His sprite is much more realistic than the others. It’s hard to make anime characters look old, since they don’t have much facial details. So trying to make him look older I ended up drawing more details and now he doesn’t really match the others so well. I will have to do something about that, I don’t know what, though. Doing the usual nose (a colored oval) that I usually do won’t cut it. Gaaah! His hair looks so shiny though. *_*Manford

 

Not much news on the writing front. I am regretting all the subplots (if they can be called that). How am I going to tie them all up? I woke up a few times last night to write down ideas in my phone. -_-  In the end Ayrius will just kill everyone with his demon powers and all will be well with the world. Who wants that to be the true ending? lol  I need to make a page for this game so that people can understand what the hell I am talking about.

While procrastinating doing reasearch by reading manga, I came a cross a title that sounded terrifyingly familiar. It was called Dokuhime. Given my extensive japanese knowledge (wut?) this sent a shiver down my back. Because that means something like “Poison princess”. I read the summary and my worst fears came true, it was pretty much the idea of Poison Sweet. It’s not identical but I imagine anyone who’s read it will make the connection. I knew from the start the idea of Poison wasn’t completely original, but I didn’t know where I had heard it before so I thought it was okay (it wasn’t this manga, I’m sure it’s been used before). I just really don’t want anyone to think I ripped off a manga. I haven’t read it, and I won’t read it, at least until the game is completed. Hopefully it’s not as similar as the summary made it appear. T_T I’m seriously annoyed with myself right now, but it’s way too late to abandon this game.

Writing update:

The game contains 2,158 screens of dialogue.
These screens contain a total of 21,807 words,
for an average of 10.1 words per screen.
The game contains 14 menus.

2 Responses to “Old people and being original”

  1. Elisabeth 30/01/2013 at 20:47 #

    afaik older people have thinner lips and bigger ears / noses than younger ones. hope that helps a little (never tried to draw old people myself). 🙂

    • GlassHeart 02/02/2013 at 17:05 #

      thanks for the tips.🙂 It’s much harder than in theory. luckily I don’t plan on drawing any other older characteres any time soon.

Leave a reply

