To CG or not to CG…?

27 Feb

If you’ve read earlier posts, you know that I’ve never made event CGs for my games before. I did try, but I never finished any, because of reasons.  We all know CGs are awesome and we want all visual novels to have them, right? But are no CGs better than bad ones?

Anyway, I’ve tried making one, and it took a pretty long time, at least for someone who wants to finish a drawing in one day. I actually worked on this 3 different times. I’m still not totally happy, but I think it looks. Usually event CGs have some sort of weird angle that makes them look more dynamic and dramatic, but I didn’t think of that until it was too late. Oh well, he’s just eating cake, what’s dramatic about that?

So, without further ado, here’s the ‘masterpiece’:

ayrius cg4

Shiny hair *_*

Would this quality be ok?  Keep in mind this is a pretty straightforward image, only shoulders up, something more action-y would be harder for me to draw. And please don’t kill be with comments about anatomy and perspective. x_x

 

7 Responses to “To CG or not to CG…?”

  1. Ayame 27/02/2013 at 16:48 #

    I think it would look great in an actual VN!😀 It looks really good to me, you shouldn’t be ashamed of it!
    So yeah, thumbs up to you~

    By the way, have you considered using some DA bases as references for more action-y stuff, as I had mentioned in my email?🙂

    • GlassHeart 27/02/2013 at 17:18 #

      I use references all the time, but I’ve never actually used DA bases before.
      I’m not sure if I’m allowed to use them for a game and if it’s possible to just trace them instead of drawing hair/clothes on top of them. I think it’s obvious I don’t use DA very much except to look at pretty artwork. I’m a DA noob. lol

      Sorry I never replied to your second e-mail. I don’t use that e-mail address that much anymore, so I must’ve forgot. I’m a horrible person OTL
      Thank you for still visiting my blog.

      • Ayame 28/02/2013 at 22:43 #

        Well, I would think that as long as you give credit where it’s due, it shouldn’t be a problem, but it’d be best to ask the artist(s) once you see a base you like.🙂 Anyway, this is just a suggestion. ^^”

        Don’t worry about it. And of course I still visit: you made one of my favourite VNs, and I’m looking forward to your next works!

  2. Blane Doyle 27/02/2013 at 22:52 #

    Honestly, the insane dutch angles of VN CGs can drive me up the wall sometimes. I frequently check a wallpaper site that uploads them as wallpapers and always have to tilt my head to figure out what angle a camera would have to be held at to get those shots in reality.

    For a first CG? I think this is pretty darn nice. It doesn’t have to be overly dramatic, for something this simple it just has to be interesting and nice to look at for as long as it is on the screen. The angle on his face is a bit strange to me, but that is honestly the only major problem I have aside from the circles of light (it sort of looks like dust catching the lens of a camera).

    Overall, thought, it looks good. I’d play a game with CGs like this.

    • GlassHeart 28/02/2013 at 13:28 #

      I’m glad you think that way, I hope you’re not the only one. I always wondered what was up with the strange angles. Usually the quality of those CGs is very high so they don’t need tricks like that to make them better.

      I’ll try to make more CGs and see how it goes, hopefully I will improve with each one. The circles were supposed to be a bokeh type effect. I added it as an afterthought, trying to “spice up” the CG. I think it looks nice, since the image is so simple, but I’ll try not to overuse it in the future. ^^

      Thank you for your comment.🙂

  3. Sayuuki 03/03/2013 at 16:38 #

    Etto…let’s just say, take your time.
    Toată lumea vrea CG-uri, biiiineînţeles! Ce-ai făcut tu acolo, pentru ochi meu pretenţioşi [pe care nu tre’ să-l bagi în seamă prea tare], n’arată rău! Am să-ţi spun părerea mea sinceră, daar ţine minte că nu prea o am cu desenul, mai ales ăsta digital – am desenat şi eu ceva la viaţa mea şi zic că mă descurc să reproduc, dar să creez eu mi-e imposibil. Deeci, mie mi se pare ok – nu ştiu câtă experienţă ai, cred că nu prea multă. Unghiul ăla al feţei…sau acum că mă uit, probabil ochii, mă zgârie pe mine pe ochi [nuanţa aia de portocaliu pe care o percep eu nu contrastează deloc frumos cu părul ăla fabulos]. Daaaar nu te grăbi! Ce vreau să spun e că prefer să aştept ca tu să-ţi mai exersezi, îmbunătăţeşti abilităţile, dacă ai timp şi chef să o faci. Umbrele sunt frumos făcute, mai atent parcă decât în alte jocuri [deşi asta ţi-ar putea lua din timp, sau mai bine zis l-ar irosi, probabil ceva mai puţin complex te-ar ajuta…nu ştiu?]. Efectele pe care le-ai pus, ce văd eu fiind gradaţia de pe margini şi cercurile de lumină, mi se pare cam în plus. Ce vreau să zic e că dau CG-ului un aspect…visător, fad, nu ştiu cum să-i zic, probabil că fără el ar părea mai real. Nu mă deranjează în special, dar curbele profilului mi se par cam tari, să zicem. [the lips look gud, we don’t want pumpy lips :))]. Mâna aia e frumoaaaaasă, atât de frumoasă că pare de fată. Cât despre ochi, poate vrei să-i faci uuuuun pic mai mari, mărimea lor în sine e cam realistă, să zicem, deşi desenul întreg nu e făcut să fie realist. Iar părul acela FABULOS [i like that hint of purple] străluceşte uuuun pic cam tare, ce-ar fi să încerci să-i faci un highlight din acela pe cap, nush cum să-l descriu, you know what i mean!

    Sper că nu te-am ameţit! În final, CG-urile sunt DORITE, oricum ar fi, pentru că fără jocul pare cam sec. Ah, şi m-am jucat de curând Starry Sky~in Spring~; mi s-a părut ok, am de gând să le joc pe toaaaate, iar momentan mă lupt cu ~in Summer~ [durează mult mai mult dacă le joc în japoneză], care-mi place mult mai mult decât ~in Spring~. Suzuya a fost foarte tare, în rest meeeh.

    • GlassHeart 04/03/2013 at 14:32 #

      Mersi pt review.😀 Sunt abia la inceput si nu ma astept sa fac ceva impresionant… Stiu ca am probleme cu anatomia/unghiurile, etc, dar asa invat incet incet. Am vrut sa fac altceva decat direct din fata sau din profil si a iesit un pic ciudat.
      Mie ochii chiar imi plac f mult cu culoarea aia de par, deci aici.. agree to disagree :)) Efectele nici eu nu sunt sigura ce fac cu ele, deocamdata experimentez, parca fara mi se pare nefinisata imaginea. Oricum alea le pot scoate usor daca mi se par in plus.
      Parul stiu ca straluceste tare dar face parte din personaj, pt ca el trebuie sa fie… overwhelming in toate aspectele si e putin obsedat de parul lui. :))
      Sunt multe stiluri de shiny-ness din ce am observat eu. Cand am colorat am incercat intai alte doua, dar nu mi-a placut cum aratau pe parul lui. Stilul ala ca o linie alba usor curbata parca nu merge asa bine pe par ondulat, ci mai mult pe par drept. cel putin asta e parerea mea.

      Nu prea am mai jucat Vn-uri in ultima vreme, de cand am terminat StarrySky si am avut o dezamagire. Alea in Jap intr-adevar dureaza mult pana le citesc cu Japoneza mea limitata + translator, si nu prea inteleg ce se intampla uneori. Pt mine e f importanta si povestea, ca daca as vrea doar sa ma uit la bishi, as ramane la anime-uri :))
      Sper ca ~in Summer~ sa fie mai frumos. Daca e, sa-mi zici si mie si poate il incerc. ^^

Leave a reply

