Warning: this post may contain whining

20 Apr

After Signed X I’ve been feeling a little lost. I’m supposed to work on Poison Sweet, but I feel like everything looks kinda… meh, and that I can do more, but at the same time I ask myself why. Why should I bother redoing/touching up sprites, UI, etc.?

This brings us to my problem. A few people have told me I should try to do commercial games. I’ve always hoped I could one day, but now the thought won’t leave me alone. The thing is most people don’t understand what making commercial games really means (and I can’t say that I completely do either). I know my content isn’t at commercial level, but the thought of selling my games is appealing. Knowing I’m actually getting paid would give me more motivation, not to mention alleviate the guilt I feel every time I work on a game instead of searching for a real job.

I started entertaining that possibility. I thought I would sell my games cheap, so that everyone could afford them (future games only, of course). But then I realized, even if I charge 5 $ or less, most people still won’t get them. There are many free VNs, why would they pay anything for mine, when they could just play free ones?  My biggest desire is that as many people as possible play my games.

So my other option would be donations. 1$ from every 100th person who visits my blog would still be something.  Sure, not nearly enough to be considered profitable, but just the feeling that I’ve done something worthwhile would be enough. You might be thinking, isn’t the fact that people are playing your games worthwhile already? Of course it is. Reading comments from people who’ve liked my games makes me really happy, but only very few actually take the time to write a comment.

Wait. How many comments has the Summer found me page have? Around 50 (not including my own). How many downloads does the game have? Over 11.000, if we count only the latest English version.  So one in 220 people left a comment. Leaving a comment is free. See where I’m going with this?

Sure, I haven’t done much promotion for my blog, because I’ve never had a reason to do so before. I haven’t even posted it to my facebook. (I don’t want my -especially male- friends to laugh at my girly games. lol)

Le sigh~

Anyway, I’m done whining for the day. Thoughts are very much appreciated.

 

14 Responses to “Warning: this post may contain whining”

  1. Alia 20/04/2013 at 23:59 #

  2. Teshia 21/04/2013 at 19:32 #

    It’s human instinct to have fame and glory. There’s nothing wrong with feeling that way; it’s quite natural. When you’re ready for creating a commercial game, go for it; you never know what the future holds for you.

    If people enjoyed your games, some of them will be willing to spend a few bucks on your games if you created a commercial one. I know I won’t hesitate to spend a few bucks on your future games. It’s not like commercial games are that expansive.

    Seriously, don’t let the thoughts of others get to you. You’re right, people don’t always leave a comment on how the game was. Since they took their precious time to played it, think of the positives things. Continue doing what you do best!🙂

  3. apoeticalfriday 22/04/2013 at 06:53 #

    First of all…
    This kinda made me sad ): Because I can’t believe talent like yours goes unappreciated. Oh, wait, I CAN believe it, but I don’t want to. I don’t know whether you remember me posting on here or on lemmasoft, but I was the one who said you were the one who inspired me to make my own VN… it’s been months since then, but I’ve been working on two projects and I really credit the inspiration to you and Summer Found Me.

    I KNOW that a lot of people will buy your games if you ever make them commercial. I know I would. The only thing that would stop me is that I don’t have paypal to pay for it, or something /: Same with the donations ): I’m just a student who earns money by freelancing as a writer, but I really WOULD be willing to support you if I can (:

    I couldn’t tell you to not worry about people not commenting, but as a person with stories up on the internet, I also find it sad that I get about a thousand reads on my story with only a few comments. It’s like feeling someone read it but didn’t like it enough to leave their thoughts about it. Yeah. Something like that. Idk if that’s how you feel, but that’s how I feel, tho.

    Eh. Okay. Sorry for the long comment /: But I hope I’ve gotten my point across, that you’re really an amazing otome maker and I’m really honored to have played your games (played Signed X last night). Maybe when I’m good enough, I can achieve my dream of making a game with you ((: (Good luck with that dream of mine, lol).

    • GlassHeart 22/04/2013 at 16:42 #

      It actually made me feel good that I inspired someone, just as someone inspired me to start making games.I wish you the best of luck! Just remember, start small and keep working, don’t give up! (haha, just kidding, I broke both those rules. It’s all up to you in the end)

      That’s exactly the problem, people that want to pay don’t gave the means to do it. But I really appreciate your support. ^_^ I’ll have to think about a method that’s convenient for most people.

      I’m guilty of this sometimes. I read fanfics and unless I love it, I don’t comment. If I get bored, start skipping or drop it alltogether, I prefer not to say anything. Maybe it’s because I don’t want people to tell me they didn’t like my games, so I don’t like to tell others I didn’t like their stories. I know I should probably say something, but… they’re doing it for free after all, why upset them?

      I haven’t done a game with anyone else, but it could be fun ^_^ Until then, I look forward to your games! When the time comes, I can beta test for you, if you’d like!😀

      • apoeticalfriday 22/04/2013 at 19:23 #

        I can’t wait to finish a KN of mine and have you beta test it xD I’m focusing more on the story-making so I’ll just be freeloading off the Creative Commons at lemmasoft… Is it okay if I notify you of its release or something? Though don’t expect much. I’m a noob at coding ((:

        Yeah, I have the same thing going for me, too, which is why I only comment on stories/games I really like. Kind of like a homage to the creator, haha.

        As for the means to pay… Maybe when I turn eighteen next year, I can get my own credit card, establish my Paypal, then donate to people like you. Until then, I’m pretty much useless to those I want to support /:

  4. Egress 27/04/2013 at 12:37 #

    I don’t think I’ve commented on your finished thread, but I have been waiting for SFM ever since you posted the demo. And man, is it good. So yeah, I apologize if my… inactivity made that statistic worse. Statistics. They suck.

    But yeah, I’m really… sad to know that your talent and amazing, amazing ability to push on is going unnoticed. I mean, your stories are really cool, not to mention all those amazing backgrounds and UI, which you seem to churn out like it’s candies. They’re gorgeous, by the way. Have to say that after Signed X and Poison Sweet. And all those work going unnoticed sucks, I know.

    And to be honest, I’m not sure what I’d do if you decide to charge your games, even if I wanted it. I’m glad you understood the dilemma within the minds of PayPal-less people ^^;

    I’ll support you anyway, I suppose. I hope you keep making all these vns, whether you want to make it commercial or not.

    PS. Another thing… I wouldn’t mind being a sprite artist if you ever need one. Just putting that there because I noticed that you have someone else for your CGs.

    • GlassHeart 27/04/2013 at 21:22 #

      You’ve commented on my blog before, so you’ve done more than most.Thank you! ^_^
      I don’t think I’ll go the paypal way, but I’m still considering my options and, in the mean time, working on my projects.

      I’m very happy you like my backgrounds and UIs, I always see problems with them and I’m never satisfied haha, but it’s good to be appreciated.
      Backgrounds are kind of a pain in the backside, but maybe I could help with a UI for one of your games, as long as you do them the same as me (I use imagemaps, and sometimes imagebuttons)

      For Summer I did have someone do the CGs. (Signed X’s gorgeous CGs were my own lol). I personally liked them, but because of the difference in styles, they weren’t very popular, so I’m reluctant to ask someone for help again. I do like your style and I think it has charm, but it’s just too different. Unless, of course, you can imitate my style really well, but I’m not even sure I have a style. OTL
      I like to do sprites myself, since it -slowly- helps my drawing skills evolve. Veery slowly. >.>

      • Egress 28/04/2013 at 15:57 #

        I just feel like I didn’t show my appreciation for it enough, since it’s one of my favourite games yet. (Though I just rewrote this comment 3 times because WordPress) Though if not paypal, then what? I mean if it was art on DeviantART, I can kind of imagine points…

        Your ability to capture the theme of the story and making them UI is commendable imo so kudos! And they’re pretty, though I do understand that belief that everything you do looks like a huge, messy fail.

        No problem, just putting that there. And who said improving has to be fast? I mean, I didn’t improve any for like… years. The details you put into your sprites for Poison Sweet is already sweet enough.

        • GlassHeart 28/04/2013 at 16:37 #

          I’ve done some research and there are quite a few sites dealing with the sell of virtual goods. So bascially they handle it for you and take a percent of the money for it. There is also the mobile method. You just input your phone number and the sum is added to your phone billl. I think this is the most convenient method, but I’m not sure if it works in all countries/with all service providers. I haven’t looked into it too seriously.

          Making a theme for my games is always pretty fun and one of the first things I do. At least it starts out fun, choosing symbols, shapes, textures, colors to include. Fitting everything into the space is kind of hard, but I usually do a complete UI in 2-3 days.

          I know improving can’t be fast, but I wish it was. Hard work is hard😄

  5. Caly 30/04/2013 at 21:40 #

    I can understand the people who told you to make commercial games, you clearly have the talent for it, imo (in comparison to those out there). Personally wathever you choose to do, I’ll be willing to pay for your future games, hoping that I could (paypal is my friend).

    But like you said, not everyone can aford to pay for games and support artists like yourself, or they don’t have credit cards or something, so I see your dilemma.

    Maybe if you keep making short free games in between long commercial ones you could make everyone happy. People could continue to see your work and if they like it and can spend some money on it, they can purchase the commercial ones. I don’t know if it helps I’m not good to give advice, I just wanted to give you my support.

    Anyway, good luck with everything.

    • GlassHeart 30/04/2013 at 23:20 #

      Thank you so much for saying that. Even if in the future I’ll choose to sell my games, I’ll always try to make free games, too. I plan on making a nanoreno game every year from now on, so at least one new game every year will be free.

      I really appreciate your support. ^_^ Thanks!

  6. Punchysporkk 02/05/2013 at 02:10 #

    Well, you guilted me into commenting. =]

    I don’t usually comment on people’s work and I know I should. I always type something out, feel like it’s awkward or pointless and then I get nervous and shy and just delete it. People are often rude online, even if they wouldnt be in person, and I guess it makes me skittish. Excuses, excuses. I’m trying to get better!

    I loooved Summer Found Me and Signed X. I am always impressed by your ability to make me laugh. You manage to take a genre I dislike (high school, slice of life) and make me love your story anyway. If you went commercial, I would buy your games. Especially for $5! That’s a steal! I would love to see more games being sold for $5-10. As it is now they all seem to be $20, whether or not they’re really worth it. I understand that a lot of hard work goes into them, but I do sometimes wonder if more people would buy them if they weren’t on par with much bigger games. Anyway, I went off on a bit of a tangent, but I do enjoy supporting small time developers making the kinds of games I enjoy, so you’d have at least one sale!

    Thanks for making awesome games, and I really look forward to seeing more from you in the future!

    • GlassHeart 05/05/2013 at 16:29 #

      Sorry for making you feel guilty, it wasn’t my intention. I actually do the same thing myself, I feel that if I don’t have anything interesting or witty to say, I should just keep it to myself.

      I’ve played it safe so far, with the school/slice of life genre (the whole “write what you know” idea), but with Poison I’m trying something different.
      I’ve played a couple of more expensive VNs and wasn’t that impressed. I’ve been wondering the same thing, if they wouldn’t sell more with a lower price, but I’m sure they don’t just come up with these numbers, they must have run some tests and trials. At least I imagine so. >.>

      Thanks for commenting. ^_^

Leave a reply

