Poison Sweet: new logo, screenshots and how the game works

27 Apr

Lately I’ve been working on re-inventing Poison Sweet’s image.  I was dissatisfied with the UI, so I decided to change it (easier said than done). While I was at it, I tried coming up with a logo for it. I’m not very good at creating logos, as you may have noticed from my previous games, but I tried, okay?!

logo

I also thought I’d give you a sneak peek at the new UI

I am in love with that texture in the background. I got it here. This site has some really pretty and free textures, so I thought I’d share. ^_^

screenshot0011

Save menu with a delete button. Le gasp!

screenshot0012

Ignore the random numbers at the top, they’re secret information. lol
***and make that “leave”

The background still isn’t final, but I like its overall look.

I’m still debating what to do with the “poison/sweet bar” (the top right bar, that’s what I like to call it. hehe). It’s basically a classic love points bar, but it’s influenced by more than just interactions with Ayrius. It can be changed by the MC’s reaction to certain pieces of information or events.

For four weeks until the wedding, from Monday to Friday, you can choose a place in the castle to spend your time: the library, dining hall, kitchen, gardens, your own room and eventually a nearby town and -hee hee- Ayrius’s chamber. Is that Ayrius’ or Ayrius’s ? Gah, I’m never naming my characters names ending with s again! So anyway, these places are where events can happen, but even just visiting some of these places will grant or withdraw a point.  This is why I think the p/s  bar is necessary and shouldn’t be kept as a cheat like in Summer found me.

The problem is, do I want to display it from the start? I’m thinking the second playthrough is better, since it might ruin immersion and all that. Personally I like to pick choices as I would in real life on the first  try, so the poison/sweet bar might hinder that. Maybe I could even make a hide button, for people who want to try their luck on their own? What do you think?

If you’re thinking the bar makes the game too easy, let me tell you something… you can’t go back on your choices in this game! I’ve decided I want to be evil. Muahaha. To be fair, you CAN rollback if you’ve just clicked on a choice, since the points are usually added after the conversation/event is over, so if you click by mistake, you can try again.

So if on working days you pick your destination, what about the weekends?  Well, you get one ‘date’ with Ayrius each weekend, with a total of four dates. By date I mean he takes you to some random place, without you having any say in it. >.> Dude needs to work on his manners. Yup, I just pinned the blame on an imaginary character, deal with it.

The different endings I have planned will not only be unlocked by the p/s bar, because that would be too easy to code (*sigh*), but by discovering secret shtuff and building relationships with other characters, mainly Helena (the cook), Leonore (Ember’s friend), and another secret(?) character. There will be sad endings, so get your tissues ready.

Of course, everything I’ve written here is subject to change, cause that’s how I roll.

11 Responses to “Poison Sweet: new logo, screenshots and how the game works”

  1. Reina 28/04/2013 at 05:42 #

    Wow, it’s beautiful! The GUI is great, but somehow it makes me dizzy. I mean can you make the wordbox brighter, easier to see? The GUI has lots of details and the BG has many colors so it’s sort of distracting me? (Lol, don’t take that too seriously, it might just be me and my silly opinion)
    I think a hide button would be nice? (For lazy and easy-gaming people?)
    How many endings are there? Is there a happily ever after ending? (I’m asking that ‘cuz you’re evil :< Don't wanna cry my eye balls out 'ya know?) The MC is there to kill him right? Gosh, plz make it a happy ending without having to kill the poor handsome cute demon :)) LOL, joking…

    • GlassHeart 28/04/2013 at 16:51 #

      Like I said, the bg isn’t final, but I think the text is easy enough to see. Did you look at it full screen? The cream colored part of the textbox has something like 10% transparency, but I really want the part of the sprites behind it to be seen, at least a little bit.

      I can almost promise my games will always have a good ending, because I can’t stand the thought of frustrating my players so much. Then again, not sure if our definitions of happily ever after are the same. I can guarantee at least one ending in which no one dies. I am so generous, I know.😄 Not sure how many endings there will be in total, but around 5 maybe.

      • Reina 28/04/2013 at 17:23 #

        Gee wiz, OK that was stupid… I was supposed to view the full image first == Gomen ne~ Forget that part, but don’t forget the next one (‘ya know, happy endings? XD)
        Haha, yup yup you’re generous, and a genius as well! Looking forward to it, hope the demon dude and his sweetness + handsomeness in the your-definition-of-good-ending will make us fangirls scream happily :3

  2. apoeticalfriday 28/04/2013 at 14:41 #

    OMFG. This is just too exciting and amazing for words! O: I can’t believe you actually coded in a ‘delete’ for save games–that is SO AWESOME. The logo is gorgeous, and I love the interface. (I’m thinking of the days it took for you to code that, haha). I can’t wait for it to come out!😀 If you need me to proofread it, I’ll gladly do it for free :3 *annoying fan mode*

    • GlassHeart 28/04/2013 at 16:58 #

      I can’t really take the credit for the delete button. The feature was there, but many people don’t know how or don’t feel the need to include it. I actually did all the UI in two (looong) days. After so many UIs done, I kind of have a handle on it. ^_^

      I’ll post something here when the game’s ready to be tested. Right now it’s so far from ready I can’t even imagine how it will look in the end. I’m not even sure what/how many endings it will have😄 Should be fun to figure out.

      • apoeticalfriday 28/04/2013 at 18:41 #

        Really? ((: Guess I haven’t looked into it enough. I DO think that a delete button is very useful in games xD That’s so awesome O: You’re such a hard worker. ^^
        Well, I’ll be here to cheer you on, and I know a LOT of other people support you, too (: Keep it up!😀 (Waiting for Cryptohaven, too… the idea behind it is so cool, and ALL the guys seem so interesting…)

  3. Sayuuki 08/05/2013 at 00:10 #

    UWA UWA UWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA (゜◇゜)
    Gomen nee că n-am mai vorbit daaar şcoala mă omoară într-o lună scap de ea yeeey
    Logo? PUURRFECT Culori, sticluţa aia, arrrgh bej >..<
    Secret chara? SECRET CHARA?! Încă mă rog pentru încă un personaj bun de prins în afară de Ayrius

  4. Sayuuki 08/05/2013 at 00:12 #

    WTF comentariul n-a ieşit tot scuuuze pentru double post cred că era de la astea >…….>
    UWA UWA UWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA (゜◇゜)
    Gomen nee că n-am mai vorbit daaar şcoala mă omoară într-o lună scap de ea yeeey
    Logo? PUURRFECT Culori, sticluţa aia, arrrgh bej
    Meeeersi pentru texturi chiar căutam ceva de genul nu că le-aş folosi daar MORE BEJ (*°∀°)=3
    UUU DELETE BUTTON ALL HAIL YOUR AMAZING IDEA! Vaaai să nu cumva să-l scoţi e cea mai convenabilă chestie everrrrr mai ales că eu la primul joc salvez înainte de fiecare alegere and it gets reaaally messy.
    Fabulous backgrounds. Just fab. Bara aia ascunde-o, fă-o vizibilă la alegere or smth, u know wat to do.
    Plimbări? Me gusta, deşi asta înseamnă joc complex, creed
    Secret chara? SECRET CHARA?! Încă mă rog pentru încă un personaj bun de prins în afară de Ayrius

  5. GlassHeart 08/05/2013 at 22:10 #

    Mersi pt entuziasm. nu mi-e clar daca iti place bejul sau il urasti, doar ca ai sentimente puternice fata de el.
    delete button e boss, nu? nu stiu de ce nu l-am bagat pana acum.
    ma bucur ca iti plac bg-urile, daaar le voi schimba probabil =))
    sistemul e cam complex, stiu. which is why I don’t want to writeee it. let’s do some pretty bgs instead. yay
    secret chara e… nu zic nimic. it’s better that way.
    hope to talk to you soon (btw, I am lurking you. just so you know)

  6. angelrenoir 03/08/2015 at 05:45 #

    If you don’t mind me asking, how did you get the X delete button to be on top of the save file image and not get covered by the screenshot-thumbnail?

    • GlassHeart 03/08/2015 at 21:05 #

      It all depends on the order you write them in. First write your add screenshot line and then the imagebutton.

Leave a reply

